The Best of The Best: 1937 Talbot-Lago Type 150-C-S “Goutte d’Eau”

1937 Talbot-Lago

1937 Talbot-Lago

The Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award is an award given to the “Best of the Best” car among Best in Show holders from 6 of the most prominent concours d’elegance events all over the world. Last August 16, the first-ever Best of the Best award was given to Peter and Merle Mullin as the proud owners of a 1937 Talbot-Lago T150C “Goutte d’Eau” (teardrop). The T150C was the Best in Show during the 2015 Cartier Style et Luxe as part of the Goodwood Festival of Speed.

The 1937 Talbot-Lago T150C “Goutte d’Eau” was designed by coachbuilder Joeseph Figoni who wanted a Streamline Modern style touring body based from the Talbot-Lago 159-C-S after it won the 1937 French Grand Prix. Two versions of the “Goutte d’Eau” were created: the Jeancart that features at notchback rear and the New York which is has a traditional fastback design. 13 out of 14 Talbot-Lago T150C “Goutte d’Eau” still exist and all of which are testaments to the beauty and craftsmanship of Figoni et Falaschi.

1937 Talbot-Lago Type 150-C-S

The Mullins’ Talbot-Lago 150-C-S with chassis number 90106 takes power from a 4.0 L inline six, a total of 5 T150C is powered by the engine. it has an aluminum body that features a tilting windscreen, a sunroof, and low-restriction exhaust headers that can support up to 140 hp. This T150C was previously owned by Former Chairman and Bently Boy Woolf Barnato, and Otto Zipper. It was later imported by Zipper into the country and was featured at the Briggs Cunningham Automotive Museum. Peter Mullin bought it in 1985 and had a complete restoration. The newly restored T150C was then featured at the Mullin Automotive Museum located in Oxnard, California.

The Best of the Best is not really the first to take all the Best in Shows and have them face each other. The Louis Vuitton Classic Award was given from 2005 to 2013 to the finest cars from prestigious car shows but until now, no other group tried to revive the idea. The Peninsula Classics Best of the Best Award was first announced at last year’s The Quail, A Motorsport Gathering.

1937 Talbot-Lago exterior

The Best of the Best Award was founded by Christian Philippsen, William E. “Chip” Connor, Bruce Meyer, and chairman of The Hongkong and Shanghai Hotels, Hon. Sir Michael Kadoorie.

Other candidates of the Best of the Best award include:

1965 Ferrari 166 P / 206 SP Dino 0834 – 2015 Cavallino Classic

1965 Ferrari 166 P

1930 Cord L29 Brooks Stevens Speedster – 2015 Amelia Island Concours d’Elegance

1930 Cord L29 Brooks Stevens Speedster

1968 Alfa Romeo Tipo 33 Stradale – 2015 The Quail, A Motorsports Gathering

1968 Alfa Romeo Tipo 33 Stradale

Ramseier-bodied 1932 Isotta Fraschini Tipo 8A, – 2015 Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance

Ramseier-bodied 1932 Isotta Fraschini Tipo 8A

1903 Mercedes 60HP Simplex – 2015 Concours of Elegance

1903 Mercedes 60HP Simplex

References & Photo Credits:

Add Comment